PC Version of the boardgame 'Saint Petersburg' V1.50

implemented by Günther Rosenbaum

Designer Michael Tummelhofer
published by (boardgame) Hans im Glück
Programming Günther Rosenbaum
Licence Freeware
released 29.12.2004 (V1.50)
Spieler 1 plus 1 - 3 Computer controlled

PC Version Sankt Petersburg: Update to version 1.50 !!

It took a few month until I could offer this update. Here it is with these changes and enhancements:

Details about the new features can be found in the readme.txt file.

Download and Installation
Use the installation program if possible. It should work with Windows 32-bit versions. Alternatively, you can use the ZIP archive if the installation program does not work for you or if you are using a 64-bit Windows version. In this case, please unzip all files (with subdirectory structure) into a folder of your choice.

Important: if you are using any of the language packs you MUST download and install it again after re-installing the game!


62157 total downloads

Program Development:
This program has been developed during the last two to three months. Our Westpark Gamers group's excitement about the boardgame "Saint Petersburg" by Bernd Brunnhofer (Hans im Glück) triggered many comprehensive discussions and articles about good or even better strategies.

Because I, too, had a few ideas and thought that they could be transposed into software with a reasonable effort, I started this project!

Together with implementing the computer opponents' AI and an acceptable user interface I developed the idea of being able to simulate different strategies in order to observe their impact and success.

I had many interesting strategy discussions specifically with Walter (Sorger) but also with our other strategists Aaron, Hans, Moritz, Peter...

By far not all of the insights gathered have been implemented in the program - that would require considerably more time - and furthermore one can have a lot of theoretical discussions but implementing these in bits and bytes quickly takes you back to the harsh grounds of feasibility. Besides: the AI is supposed to be not too strong so that one is still able to have the occasional feeling of success when playing against it.

If you trace the game of the computer opponents you will soon discover a lot of weaknesses and inconsistencies. Therefore it may be questionable if the implementation is a challenge for a die-hard Saint Petersburg strategist, but this is something you should try out by yourself. Please post your experiences here!

Now a final stroke has been drawn with version 1.0 of the implementation - especially because my vacation will start soon and the public release would drag on even further.

On June 6, 2004 the first line of code was written (I am not a soccer fan!) - in mid July we tested the first prototypes and end of August version 1.0 is available for download. And I have time to do other things!

If you report major, reproducible bugs they will be fixed at short notice. If I am still interested in the game and you provide some ideas I might even implement improved strategies for the computer AI - let's wait and see!

Runtime Environment:
This program is a 32bit Windows implementation; it should run on all Windows versions since Windows95. I was not able to test all Windows versions and service packs - please report any problems you may have (there is a small problem with W2k - see the readme.txt).

The program has been developed under Windows XP with a screen resolution of 1152x864 - this is the best resolution for the game but it is also possible to play at different resolutions.

For smaller resolutions an automatic adjustment is made when the program is executed the first time. Should this not be satisfactory you can change the resolution using "Optionen" "Skalierung Hauptformular" which results in an adjustment relativ to the 1152 resolution. Afterwards, please restart the program! Notice that at resolutions of 800x600 or less the screen layout becomes rather poor...

Language Packs:
(by Steve Perucca)
(by Massimiliano)
(by Jan)
(by Ronald)
(by Laurent)
(by Morsac)
(by Norson)
(by Carl-Gustav)
(by Alex)

Language Packs:
We are providing Saint Petersburg PC with different language packs. In order to get the desired version for buttons, menues,and other in-game text you need to download the respective language file. Just unzip it into the game's install directory. Maybe someone out there is willing to translate this resource file into other languages? And if anyone would like to help us translating the help files into English we are happy to provide the resource files for that. Rules for the boardgame in various languages can be found on Boardgamegeek.

read/write comments

©2004, Günther Rosenbaum

PC Version des Brettspiels "Sankt Petersburg" V1.50

programmiert von Günther Rosenbaum

Autor Michael Tummelhofer
Verlag (Brettspiel) Hans im Glück
Programmierung Günther Rosenbaum
Lizenz Freeware
erschienen 29.12.2004 (V1.50)
Spieler 1 plus 1 - 3 Computerspieler

PC Version Sankt Petersburg: Update auf Version 1.50 !!

Einige Monate hat es nun gedauert, bis ich dieses Update anbieten kann. Hier ist es nun - mit folgenden Erweiterungen:

Genauere Infos über die neuen Features findet ihr in der Hilfe-Datei und in der Readme.txt.

Download und Installation:
Am besten verwendet man das Installations-Programm. Alternativ kann das ZIP Archiv benutzt werden, wenn das Installation Programm nicht korrekt arbeitet oder wenn eine 64-bit Windows-Version verwendet wird. In diesem Fall bitte alle Dateien (mit Unterverzeichnisstruktur) in ein beliebiges Verzeichnis entpacken.

Achtung: Falls ein Language Pack genutzt wird, so muß dieses nach einer Neuinstallation neu heruntergeladen und installiert werden!


65267 Downloads insgesamt

Programmentstehung:
Entstanden ist dieses Programm in den letzten zwei bis drei Monaten, nachdem uns innerhalb der Westpark Gamers Spielergruppe das Brettspiel "Sankt Petersburg" von Bernd Brunnhofer (Hans im Glück Verlag) so sehr begeisterte, dass sich umfangreiche Diskussionen und Abhandlungen bezüglich guter und besserer Strategien entzündeten.

Da auch ich hierzu einige Ideen hatte und glaubte, dass sich diese auch mit überschaubarem Aufwand in einem Programm umsetzen ließen, habe ich dieses Projekt gestartet!

Zusätzlich zur Implementierung der Computergegner und einer einigermaßen akzeptablen Bedienoberfläche wurde auch die Idee verwirklicht, Simulationen verschiedener Strategien unter Beobachtung ihrer Auswirkungen/Erfolge durchführen zu können.

Viele interessante Strategiediskussionen habe ich speziell mit Walter (Sorger) aber auch mit unseren anderen Strategen Aaron, Hans, Moritz, Peter... geführt.

Noch lange nicht alle diese Erkenntnisse sind im Programm enthalten - dafür braucht es noch einiges mehr an Zeit - ausserdem läßt sich theoretisch viel diskutieren, die Umsetzung in Bits und Bytes holt einen dann doch häufig auf den Boden des Machbaren zurück (nebenbei: zu stark soll das Programm ja auch nicht sein, denn man möchte ja seine Erfolgserlebnisse beim Spielen haben).

Verfolgt man das Spiel der Computergegner, so erkennt man sicher noch viele Schwächen und Ungereimtheiten. Ob es daher momentan für den echten, harten Sankt Petersburg Strategen genügend anspruchsvoll ist, mag man bezweifeln - aber das könnt Ihr ja selber ausprobieren und Eure Erfahrungen hier posten!

Trotzdem sollte hier ein erster Schlussstrich mit der Version 1.0 gezogen werden - insbesondere weil in Kürze mein Urlaub ansteht und es sich sonst noch bedeutend länger hinausziehen würde!

Denn: am 11.06.04 wurde die erste Zeile Code geschrieben (ich bin wirklich kein Fußballfan!), Mitte Juli konnte man den ersten Prototypen testen und Ende August 2004 steht die Version 1.0 jetzt für Euch zur Verfügung - aber jetzt muss ich auch mal wieder was anderes machen!

Sollten größere (reproduzierbare) Bugs gemeldet werden, so wird es sicher kurzfristig auch Korrektur-Releases geben. Bei weiterem Interesse meinerseits und Ideen Eurerseits wird es dann gegebenenfalls auch noch verbesserte Strategien der Computergegner geben - mal schauen!!

Ablaufumgebung:
Dieses Programm ist ein 32-Bit Windows-Programm; es sollte also unter allen Windows Versionen ab Windows95 ausführbar sein. Tests mit sämtlichen Windowsversionen und Servicepacks konnten jedoch nicht durchgeführt werden - mögliche Probleme bitte melden! (Problem mit W2k: siehe Readme.txt)

Entwickelt wurde es unter Windows XP mit einer Bildschirmauflösung von 1152x864 - diese ist daher die günstigste Auflösung für das Spiel; aber auch mit anderen Auflösungen ist es spielbar.

Bei nach unten abweichender Auflösung wird beim Erststart des Programms eine automatische Skalierung durchgeführt. Ist dies nicht zufrieden stellend, so kann nachträglich unter dem Menüpunkt "Optionen... Skalierung Hauptformular" eine Verkleinerung/Vergrößerung relativ zur 1152er Auflösung eingestellt werden. Anschließend bitte das Programm sofort neu starten! Bei einer Auflösung von 800x600 oder kleiner ist allerdings die Darstellung des Programmes schon sehr bescheiden ...

Language Packs:
(von Steve Perucca)
(von Massimiliano)
(von Laurent)
(von Ronald)
(von Morsac)
(von Norson)
(von Carl-Gustav)
(von Jan)
(von Alex)

Sprachoptionen:
Wir stellen Sankt Petersburg PC in verschiedenen Sprachvarianten bereit. Um die jeweilige Version zu bekommen muss die betreffende Sprachdatei zusätzlich heruntergeladen werden. Einfach unzippen und ins Installationsverzeichnis des Spiels kopieren. Vielleicht hat ja jemand Lust, diese Datei auch für weitere Sprachen zur Verfügung zu stellen? Und falls jemand die Hilfedatei übersetzen möchte, stellen wir gerne die dazu notwendige Resource Datei bereit. Die Spielregeln des Brettspiels finden sich in diversen Übersetzungen bei Boardgamegeek.

Kommentare lesen/schreiben

©2004, Günther Rosenbaum